Oracle Core # How does oracle do a data change – Redo and Undo

I am reading Jonathan Lewis’s latest book Oracle Core recently. I will note something important here.

How does oracle do a data change:

1. Create a redo change vector describing how to insert an undo record into an undo block.
2. Create a redo change vector for the data block change.
3. Combine the redo change vectors into a redo record and write it to the log buffer.
4. Insert the undo record into the undo block.
5. Change the data block.

If you are interested in this book, you can buy one. Even better, you can buy it’s ebook no matter where you are.

About Alex Zeng
I would be very happy if this blog can help you. I appreciate every honest comments. Please forgive me if I'm too busy to reply your comments in time.

One Response to Oracle Core # How does oracle do a data change – Redo and Undo

  1. udayjampani says:

    Precise and Good post

Leave a comment